FILM REVIEW : FAN


Cast-Shah Rukh Khan

Directed by-Maneesh Sharma

Produced by YashRaj Films

 

“Jab tak Sooraj,Chand rahega..Shahrukh tera FAN salamat rahega”

Debraj Moulick

 

Story- I am not Wikipedia

 

Characterization

Gaurav aka Junior Aryan Khanna dazzles the screen with his stalker like approach and an obsessed eccentric fan personality of a fictional movie star Aryan Khanna (read Shah Rukh Khan).He is just an ordinary Delhi boy with an extraordinary penchant for his superstar,his idol Aryan Khanna.He lives his idol,he breathes his idol..in one word he exists because of his icon.

While many people told me that ShahRukh as a reel life superstar couldn’t match up to his onscreen personality as FAN,I would strongly disagree.In word of Devdas Mukherjee “Objection Overruled” (SLB’s DEVDAS).He received a tailor made role of a superstar in this film  and unlike his other onscreen superstar spree in Om Shanti Om and Billu Barber,he keeps his acting just within rule books.Once in a while he shows his attitude and at times he plays it through a safe zone as conscious Public figure and a protective family guy.Keep it up Sirjee,you are way ahead of your time..you know how to underplay yourself so that your other self (FAN)shines throughout the 70mm.

 

The Enigma Of Fan

 

Now let me tell you a secret,I enjoy Shah Rukh Khan.My father tells me he has been watching him since the days of “ FAUJI” and my mom tells him he is a romantic star…but I never had his poster in my room,nor I have watched every first day first show of his movies.

It was the year 1996,I was in  my relative’s house when suddenly my elder brother and my uncle came home after a matinee show of a particular movie,they  collected almost 200 rupees(audience were throwing coins for each scenes) from the movie hall(consisting on coins).The show was of DDLJ and the star was SHAH RUKH wait for it KHAN,yes that was the craziness of Shahrukh’s film twenty years back in a sleepy moffusil town in Bengal and living in Mumbai at present, I get the same vibe.

Just remember only two things get better with time one is Sharab (Wine) and another one is .. SHAH RUKH KHAN.

The so called intellectual fan of Aamir Khan taunted me so much because they said Shahrukh doesn’t act,he is a pure Businessman. Well I would say “ BITCH PLEASE”..

Gaurav is the screen stealer, he gets his body language correct,his expression to die for and his insanity deserves an applause…It is his fixation for the superstar that makes him so endearing that you become puzzled who is the real star over here.. The FAN or the ICON ?

 

I am a proud kid of 90s,but I have never seen the younger  ShahRukh of Dewaana and Baazigar on the bigscreen( I was too small to visit a theatre ),so thanks to YRF for bringing that Shahrukh onscreen.

 

Movie critics criticized him for his eccentric acting method, his constipated dialogue delivery and his baritone laughter style..but Shahrukh never bothered..he delivered in manner and twenty years down the lane they are the most incredible traits of his acting.

Regarding the script,well in one word it is lousy and yes it is not a  copy of a Hollywood flick of the same name.Cinematography and background music has been very apt to the tone of the film..one of the negative thing about the script is that,it was bit predictable..but who cares it was Shahrukh all the way.

GURU TUMI CHILE..TUMI THAKBE

Hey you Jackass..Shahrukh doesn’t need promotion and item numbers.  J

What happens when you get a combination of  KKkkkkiran Obsessed Shahrukh(DARR), love labor lost Shahrukh (Kabhie Haan Kabhie Naa) and a V for Vengeance Shahrukh (Bazzigar) with a little bit of exothermic reaction called superstardom…you have a FAN.

Got my point ?

Rehne de,tu nahi samjhega

PROS

1.Acting

2.Location

3.Obsession

4.Dialogues

5.Some scenes gives you goosebumps…

A.The Last Fighting Scenes B.The sequence in Rajdhani Express C.The last scene of the movie.

6.No unnecessary songs and dance sequence

7.It shows you that one should appreciate the hard work of the self made superstar..not only the Glitz and Glamour.

Cons

1.The screenplay could have been bit more engaging.

2.No Jabra Fan anthem.

Disclaimer : Images have been taken from the Internet.

11 thoughts on “FILM REVIEW : FAN

  1. Interesting review I got to read today 🙂 . Liked it . Please read my Gujarati film review the link of which is given below .
    https://www.facebook.com/notes/short-stories-of-vasu-and-meera-and-quotes/movie-review-gujjubhai-the-great/1525909691047797
    Here are the few link to the video clipping of Gujjubhai the great for your kind viewing .
    Clip no 1 : https://youtu.be/88oiBspfGeE?list=PLzrQEIe14nlLrnUHaX6a_gPBRZFI0qs3J
    Clip no 2 : https://youtu.be/qgtOr5oK-Pg?list=PLzrQEIe14nlLrnUHaX6a_gPBRZFI0qs3J
    Chip no 3 : https://youtu.be/T5gstULM0ZY?list=PLzrQEIe14nlLrnUHaX6a_gPBRZFI0qs3J
    Happy Weekend !
    Enjoy !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just came across your review Debraj. I am a fan (not crazy though 😛 ) of SRK and have watched almost all his films. Yeah, even the failed ones. But the promos for this film threw me off.
    I prefer his DDLJ, Dil toh pagal hai, Dilwale, Yes Boss and the like. Baazigar was excellent. But I didn’t care for Anjaam and Darr. Give me Chak De any time 😀
    And I do believe that most of his awards were bought, especially Chennai Express which was one of the most idiotic films that I have seen. He plays to the audience, but I won’t call him a great actor. It’s all charisma and he has plenty of it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

